Current Cost Support Forum

A support forum for Current Cost users, partners and developers. Covering hardware, software and web.
Site Announcements

The support forum is moderated Monday to Friday, UK time. To submit a support ticket, please email: helpme [at] currentcost .com

It is currently Tue Oct 27, 2020 8:22 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:43 pm
Posts: 12
So for a while i have put up with freezing bridge syndrome, so i plugged a time clock in and at 4am every day the time clock powered off the bridge putting it back on 5 mins later. For weeks and weeks this was fine then it started freezing again in the afternoon?
so i lengthened the time it was off and again ok for a while everything was OK then it has worsened again but i have noticed something......very curious.

I also use a site www.enio.co.uk very good brilliant graphs used them for a couple of years no problem, so when i went to look at this i notice i have lost no data on this site? how is this possible if my bridge keeps freezing? today it has been off for several hours on Current cost but Enio has lost no data?

Begining to look like its the website and not the bridge? unless anyone knows different.

Anyone any ideas???

Bogget


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 6:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:26 pm
Posts: 138
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Bogget wrote:
Begining to look like its the website and not the bridge? unless anyone knows different.

Anyone any ideas???

Bogget

I believe that, strictly speaking, "Bridge frozen" means "there has not been an update to COSM in the last 15 minutes". That could be
  1. bridge not running - power etc including momentary disconnection or brownouts
  2. Intranet or internet failure - continuing or intermitent
  3. Bridge running and network working but not connected to server
  4. Authorization failure

If rebooting the bridge fixes the problem it is likely to be a,b or c. A UPS for network components and bridge may be useful if problem is a or b. If the problem is c, fixing a and b and/or replacing router may solve the problem. Also pay atention to the quality of the cables - CAT5e for preference.

Problems fixed by re-registering the bridge or needing support are almost certainly authorization problems and there is nothing we can do about it. From observation of the COSM forums, other arduino type devices do not have the same level of extended problems seen by some people owning bridges, they mostly just work. The main difference is that Bridge owners have to contend with an additional complex and perhaps fragile authorization scheme.

This is the way I think authorization works. Some of it from putting a protocol analyser between the bridge and the internet for a very short time. A lot of it is (fanciful) guesswork.
  1. Bridge to 173.203.98.29 :: "Hello, This is CurrentCost bridge serial no 1234. My data is 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9, Over" - 173.203.98.29 is the address of ConnectedEnvironments.com the owner of COSM. You might call it the commercial arm of COSM.
  2. 173.203.98.29 to bridge :: "OK, dont bother to send it again. Out" - don't suppose this really happens
  3. ConnEnv to CurrentCost.com :: "Hello, this is ConnEnv. I've had a call from Bridge serial no 1234, Is it OK to forward? Over" - stores the values for response.
  4. CurrentCost.com reply to ConnEnv :: "Hello ConnEnv, this is CC. Re your Query about Bridge Serial No 1234 - it has a current subscription and can see all 10 channels. It uses Cosm feed 9999. Over"
  5. ConEnv to CurrentCost.com :: "Thanks, Roger, Wilco, Out"
  6. ConnEnv to Cosm :: "Hello old mate! Could you PUT 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9 to 9999. Over"
  7. Cosm reply to ConnEnv :: "Done! BTW can't U batch some of these, I'm running ragged with all the freeloaders."
  8. ConnEnv to Cosm :: "Out" - deletes stored values

Of course some of these conversations may be cached, but there is still a number of failure points. There may be reliable delivery to ConnectedEnvironments but not beyond. I had one situation where my IAM data was missing and was restored when the authorisation was fixed.

Hmm, I wonder when my subscription expires?

To round out the picture, I should say I have been running the bridge for 9 months. I had a week out in March which needed support assistance, but it has worked flawlessly since then. I have a good quality Linksys router (which needs rebooting occasionally, say monthly ) and I do use a UPS (purchased for my server, but the bridge does not draw much; router is too far away).

_________________
Seeker
"The Truth is out there!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:55 am
Posts: 1
As kitchens have evolved over the years, newer designs and layouts have been introduced to suit modern needs. One such concept is the fitted kitchen, which makes optimum use of even the smallest available space to create a functional and aesthetic area.
Fitted kitchens enhance the value of your home and add to its overall appearance. The services of a reliable kitchen company can transform your living space into a work of art. Experts from KitchensSimply can survey your kitchen and advise you on how to go about its design and planning. Regardless of how challenging and tricky your kitchen layout is, you can count on us to offer you ingenious solutions that perfectly ‘fit’ your requirements.

Fitted Kitchens

_________________
Fitted Kitchens


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group