Current Cost Support Forum

A support forum for Current Cost users, partners and developers. Covering hardware, software and web.
Site Announcements

The support forum is moderated Monday to Friday, UK time. To submit a support ticket, please email: helpme [at] currentcost .com

It is currently Tue Oct 27, 2020 8:19 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Bridge and PVOutput.org
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:16 pm
Posts: 19
Hi

I was wondering if there was any chance the Bridge may connect to PVOutput.org, now that Google Powermeter is almost dead.

PVOutput.org is a fantastic Australian site which plots Solar Generation and Household Consumption in a variety of ways. I use an Envi plus USB cable to upload live generation and consumption data via a 24/7 PC, the data can viewed here; http://pvoutput.org/intraday.jsp?id=2476&sid=1872

The bridge method would be far easier for people who don't want a permanently on PC, with much lower electrical consumption. I realise that the bridge can only post generation or consumption data as there is only one channel.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:32 am
Posts: 1
G'day Alan,
I've got the same setup (Envi R Power Meter) with a bridge wanting to connect to PVOutput.org. Did you manage to get this connected without having a PC permanently on?
-André


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:16 pm
Posts: 19
awheeley wrote:
G'day Alan,
I've got the same setup (Envi R Power Meter) with a bridge wanting to connect to PVOutput.org. Did you manage to get this connected without having a PC permanently on?
-André



Hi

No, sorry, I still use the USB cable to a permanently on PC to upload to PVOurput.org here; http://pvoutput.org/intraday.jsp?id=2476&sid=1872

Alan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 6:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 7:59 pm
Posts: 71
AlanIOW wrote:
awheeley wrote:
G'day Alan,
I've got the same setup (Envi R Power Meter) with a bridge wanting to connect to PVOutput.org. Did you manage to get this connected without having a PC permanently on?
-André



Hi

No, sorry, I still use the USB cable to a permanently on PC to upload to PVOurput.org here; http://pvoutput.org/intraday.jsp?id=2476&sid=1872

Alan


Alan - are you doing a manual upload of your data? I see you are uploading the power/energy used......im using the auto upload of data generated by Sunny Explorer, but this only sends the generated data, not used, so i wondered how you were uploading tht?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 3:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:16 pm
Posts: 19
[quote="AndygodberAlan - are you doing a manual upload of your data? I see you are uploading the power/energy used......im using the auto upload of data generated by Sunny Explorer, but this only sends the generated data, not used, so i wondered how you were uploading tht?[/quote]


Andy - I am uploading live data from the EnviR for both generation and consumption. I have an Optismart LED reader on the Generation meter which gives nearly 100% accurate generation readings, even better than directly from the inverter. The consumption data is from a CT clamp which is around the Live cable going into the Consumer Unit and the Live from the inverter twisted round so it goes through the same CT clamp backwards. This odd arrangement cancels out the generation from the Net giving the actual house consumption. Both the Optismart and the CT clamp are on different Appliance Nos. on the EnviR. Then PVOutput.org provide a small program to get the data off the EnviR to a PC via USB cable, which uploads every 5 Mins to PVOutput.org. You do have to input a few bits into the program like the Appliance Nos. etc. but once set up it works perfectly and the site gives all sorts of comparison data as well as data such as Electricity Saved each day, which as far as I know is the only way this can be done with Solar PV.

Hope that helps

Alan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 11:46 am
Posts: 35
... Then PVOutput.org provide a small program to get the data off the EnviR to a PC via USB cable, which uploads every 5 Mins to PVOutput.org. You do have to input a few bits into the program like the Appliance Nos. etc. but once set up it works perfectly and the site gives all sorts of comparison data as well as data such as Electricity Saved each day, which as far as I know is the only way this can be done with Solar PV.
Hope that helps
Alan[/quote]

Alan, what is url for this program. I don't have a netsmart so may solar accuracy not as great, but still ok, but have an envi with 2 input sensors, the house & the solar, each from clamps. So I assume I can do what you are doing and use pvoutput to graph house & solar every 5 mins. Can't seem to find the right stuff on pvoutput, I can see api, and file upload but not a 5 min thingy. Dohhhh...
John


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:16 pm
Posts: 19
Hi John

Its called Integration Service and can be downloaded here;

http://code.google.com/p/pvoutput-integ ... loads/list

It is described about half way down this page here;

http://pvoutput.org/help.html#overview

But there are some help files in the download.

Alan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:16 pm
Posts: 19
Apparently, PVOutput.org are organising a Polling Server, whatever that is, that will enable data from the Bridge to be posted directly to PVOutput without the need for a 24/7 PC. It will need to get the data via Pachube, but it should be alot simpler and cheaper than the current system.

Alan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:16 pm
Posts: 19
Hi

In answer to my original post, you can now apparently upload data to PVOutput.org from your Bridge via Pachube. The details are here on their forum; http://getsatisfaction.com/pvoutput/top ... ce_pachube

I have not tried it as I have sold my Bridge since I originally posted the question.

Alan

PS. I have got a friends Bridge uploading to PVOutput, very easy once you have the Pachube Api. No. and ID.
See Here; http://pvoutput.org/intraday.jsp?id=6783&sid=5415


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 5:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 10:26 pm
Posts: 3
I've tried the PVOutput Pachube Auto Upload Service and it works great! Data moves from the Current Cost Envi to the CC Bridge to Pachube to PVOutput. PVOutput charts the Power (Power Consumed and Energy Consumed) and the Temperature (C). It was easy to set-up. The only small hiccup for me was that it took a few hours for data to appear (it should have started grabbing data within a few minutes). Bankstownbloke has done an outstanding job with the site and this new service!

Jon


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group