Current Cost Support Forum

A support forum for Current Cost users, partners and developers. Covering hardware, software and web.
Site Announcements

The support forum is moderated Monday to Friday, UK time. To submit a support ticket, please email: helpme [at] currentcost .com

It is currently Fri May 29, 2020 5:45 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: night time drop outs
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 7:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 11:26 am
Posts: 43
Hi, My setup has been working fine for some time. The odd Freeze but mostly good. however in the last couple of days I've had night time drop outs i.e periods with no charted data. is this due to maintenance at the server end ?

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: night time drop outs
PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 8:42 am
Posts: 9
This is happening to me as well. Currently my EnviR shows as online in mycurrentcost.com, but it only shows the last reading. Graph has not updated since about 6 hours now (just the last reading is updating). Also pvouput.org is not getting updated so is the problem with Xively?

Anyhow, would like to get this sorted asap...:)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: night time drop outs
PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 10:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 11:26 am
Posts: 43
Thanks for the confirmation, happened again last night. Sometimes the mycurrentcost.com graph shows a sloped line from the last known good measurement to the current point i.e a perfect diagonal line, other times its just a gap


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: night time drop outs
PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 10:56 pm
Posts: 29
Yes, not everso reliable is it - mines dropped out several times this week, including all day yesterday :cry:

Mind you looking at the dearth of posts on the forum over the past few months I get the impression that everyone has got fed up and gone home - including current cost themselves. I'm sorely tempted to give up with them and try something else


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: night time drop outs
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 9:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 11:26 am
Posts: 43
matelodave wrote:
Yes, not everso reliable is it - mines dropped out several times this week, including all day yesterday :cry:

Mind you looking at the dearth of posts on the forum over the past few months I get the impression that everyone has got fed up and gone home - including current cost themselves. I'm sorely tempted to give up with them and try something else



well to be honest mine has been pretty stable for over a year. I do seem to have the odd freeze but other than that its been OK. I had 3 white-out periods over the last week but none now for a few days. I guess it is a bit quiet in here. I guess its pretty tough for CC, so many competing systems, and I guess the real hobbyists might go the Pi route.

I've recently moved my 2 IAMS to the LED TV and Sky box to see if the various settings had any appreciable difference. Interesting exercise, the 46" Samsung LED TV was using a solid 100 watts when on, but with auto-brightness set and the lowest (mild, medium and heavy) ECO setting this drops to the high 60 watts climbing to 70 depeding on light levels (auto-brightness uses more depending on the rooms light levels), and in fact with mid ECO drops to closer to 50 watts. In standby mode the TV uses no detectable electricity. The trick with the ECO is to change it down and not tell the family. Do it incrementally over time and see if anyone notices ;)

The Sky Box has an ECO mode in the most recent firmware, which I set. The box uses between 25 and 15 watts depending on wether its recording, presenting real time TV or in standby)amber light). Standby still uses 15 watts. With the ECO mode set the box actually turns off for a few hours in the night and doesn't use any detectable power PROVIDED there are no recordings during that period. I guess the main way of energy saving a SKY + box is to double check the series-linked recordings you are making are still of interest.

So, an IAM or 2 is useful to move around the house , getting the feel of different devices consumption and where possible, tuning them down


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group